Q: Do all the poets have to be present for orientation?

A: Yes. All competitors must be present at Registration and Orientation to qualify for the competition.

Q: Hello, when is the last day to register for the festival as an individual poet?

A: Registration officially closes when we have 16 registered indie poets and 32 registered teams. We will accept a waiting list after that.

Q: Hello! I just wanted to ask quickly if there are age limits on team members. We have an 18-year-old who just made our team and I want to be sure she is welcome. Thanks!

A: The tournament is 18+. Please keep in mind there may be venues that serve alcohol on the premises that are not affiliated with the Tournament.

Q: I Just followed SoFried on twitter. Are there any other social media accounts other than FB and twitter?

A: Yes! We urge you to ‘like’ our So Fried Poetry, Inc fan page on Facebook and follow @sofriedpoetry on Twitter and Instagram and YouTube.

Q: What states are represented as in-region at the Southern Fried Poetry Regional Slam?

A: FL, GA, NC, SC, VA, AL, MS, TN, AR, LA, KY, and TX.

Q: Who are the Previous Southern Fried Winners?


2017 Louisville, KY Slamageddon / Ed Mabrey
2016 Greensboro, NC Team SNO / Ed Mabrey
2015 Little Rock, AR Austin Poetry Slam/ Ed Mabrey
2014 Greenville, SC Bull City/ Jay Luvve
2013 New Orleans, LA 215th & Treat Yo Self/Amir Safi
2012 Tampa, FL Slam Duval/Lady Tess
2011 Atlanta, GA Java Monkey/G Yamazawa
2010 Knoxville, TN Bull City/Bluz
2009 Raleigh-Durham, NC Charlotte / TJ
2008 Tallahassee, FL Minoriteam / Big Mike
2007 Columbia, SC Respect the Mic / Ali
2006 Birmingham, AL Columbia / Cuban
2005 Charlotte, NC Charlotte / Paul D
2004 Miami, FL Hampton Rd. VA / 13th of Nazareth
2003 New Orleans, LA Baton Rouge / Lizz Straight
2002 Memphis, TN Montevallo / Karen Wilson
2001 Birmingham, AL Dallas / John Hancock
2000 Americus, GA Atlanta / Ayodele
1999 Knoxville, TN Knoxville / Ayodele
1998 Greenville, SC Greenville / Glenis Redmond
1997 Johnson City, TN Asheville / Glenis Redmond
1996 Knoxville, TN Winston-Salem / Pat Storm & Evert Eden
1995 Winston-Salem, NC Asheville / Danny Solis
1994 Winston-Salem, NC Asheville / Danny Solis
1993 Asheville, NC Asheville / Cecil Bothwell

Q: I have a quick question regarding qualification for the Southern Fried Poetry Slam. I noticed in the rules where it said members of a team must have won a poetry slam which was open to the public. I am competing in May at a slam. The slam will be my only slam before the Southern Fried Poetry Slam. However, I am competing as an individual. Will I have to win the slam in order to compete in Louisville?

A: No. This rule only applies to teams and not indie poets.

Q: It appears that my team might not be able to attend the festival this year. How are refunds handled?

A: All refunds will be issued after the event on the 15th of the month of the 2017 Tournament as follows:

Less than 60 days or more before the event, Full Refund.

Less than 45 days before the event, 50% Refund.

Less than 30 days before the event No Refund.